Archive for September 27th, 2004

109631959209405896

PocketPC Addict This little tip has really helped me to keep my onboard memory as free as possible by eliminating unneccessary clutter.

109631933208953473

109631659310774152

More on the Move from Palm to Pocket PC: Don’t Get Rid of the Wireless Keyboard

When I bought my T3, I later purchased the Palm Wireless Keyboard. This thing is great because it uses infrared making it compatible with almost any Palm handheld that uses infrared and doesn’t need to plug into connectors which are not the same for all Palm models and made other keyboards useless once you bought a new device. The REALLY good thing about this keyboard is since it uses infrared, it theoretically should work with ANY handheld that uses infrared technology, Palm or otherwise. Well guess what? The same manufacturer that makes the palmOne Wireless Keyboard (Think Outside) also makes the Stowaway IR Wireless Keyboard–a re-branded version of the very same keyboard–which is compatible with both Palm and Pocket PC PDAs. All you need to do to make your Palm Wireless Keyboard work with a Pocket PC device is download the proper drivers and install them on your machine. Outstanding! Finally, an accessory that really is universal.

109631584866595014

Geek.com Geek News – Mini-Review: Nokia 6820

Neat phone. It seems that my efforts to get my grubby hands on an h6315 Pocket PC phone by exchanging my iPAQ 4155 and paying the difference have been foiled–and by my own mistake, no less. I never throw away the original boxes of my PDA because I like to include the original packaging when I inevitably sell the device and use the proceeds to trade up to the latest and greatest. Well that wasn’t the case with my 4155. What was I thinking? And so now, when I go to CompUSA to exercise the PDA exchange warranty that I purchased with the thing in the hopes of upgrading at the appropriate time (like now!), not having the original box makes the deal a no-go with my only option being to exchange a defective device for a refurbished model. Aaaagh! I want a new phone-PDA combo right now, not later. This means I’ll have to sell the 4155 (like the T3 before it) on eBay or Half.com. Not a bad thing but again, it kills the go-out-and-get-it-now impulse and the whole thrill of having the latest new toy. I might just go buy a new one outright and deal with the sale of the old device later but that’s a lot of cheese outta my pocket with no immediate replenishment. Anyway, this phone seemed like a nice consolation gadget but after writing this entry, I’m not that crazy about it anymore and my attention is back on the h6315. I guest you can’t do Jedi mind tricks on yourself.